The Young and Mighty

One week from today these beautiful faces will be walking the runway at the Rock off Cancer Fashion Show (details at end of post) and I can’t wait to see them again.

Children can be especially shy when you start photographing them. I don’t blame them! It is intimidating. Essentially I am a stranger with a big pieces of equipment blocking my face while telling them what to do, where to go and how to look.

It can be challenging to build that sort of trust immediately after meeting someone.

This is also the reason why I love shooting documentary style. While I do give some direction, I am mostly after one goal: capturing you as you are in this exact moment.

But I have to say that with this shoot I think it took me a second longer then the kids to open up. The reason being is I just felt in total awe of every one of my models for the day.

These kids are heroes, there is no doubt about it. They are fighting a battle and they do it with an army behind them. Their families are fighting for them, the doctors and staff at the hospital are fighting for them and I have to believe that each person who meets them carries hope for them as well.

When I look back at these photos all I can see is the light in each kid. I can’t imagine what they go through on a daily basis but while I was there we laughed, played and posed. They told me stories about the before, during and after cancer phases of their lives. Some stories were told with jokes, others with a slight smile and others with no words at all.

I think about this shoot often. I think about how positive these kids were and how much we all have in out lives to be grateful for. Some days you just have to look harder than others. And some days you need that army behind you to be reminded.

Sunday, July 10, 2016 from 12:30 PM to 3:00 PM (CDT)
San Fernando Hall
231 West Commerce Street
San Antonio, TX 78205

Get tickets:  lovehelpzkidzsa.eventbrite.com

Leave a Reply

