Jake + Bridget’s San Antonio Wedding at Supper {Hotel Emma} and their Backyard

For totally selfish reasons I was really excited when I received a call from Jake. He was telling me how they plan to do a small ceremony with about 20 people and then have a party with all their friends and extended family a couple days later.

Jake+Bridget_portraits-39I am always honored when a couple chooses me to photograph one of the biggest days of their lives. In this case I was also super excited because I have always wanted to shoot this type of wedding. And here is the selfish part, this is the type of celebration that I have envisioned for my wedding since getting engaged so naturally I wanted to see how it went down!

I think what I loved most about their wedding was how it felt that it was really about them. There is nothing wrong with having a big wedding and I think it works out great for a lot of people. But you could tell that a large or traditional wedding wouldn’t have been their speed so they did it their way.  (Side note, personally, I am all about people doing things in a way that feels right for them in all areas of life!)

As a photographer I loved it because of how flexible the day was! We originally didn’t have a lot of time planned for their portraits but they were enjoying that part so much that they decided to push dinner back 30 minutes. No biggie!

Since the ceremony was on a Thursday they were able to enjoy conversation and celebration with their closest friends and family over a delicious dinner at Supper located in the Hotel Emma here in San Antonio, Texas.

Sometimes a long wedding day can be exhausting and by the time it is time to dance and celebrate people are often exhausted. I was curious if not having everyone at the ceremony or it being a couple days later would kill the momentum of the celebration. Turns out, it was quite the opposite! Everyone seemed really refreshed and excited to celebrate the newlyweds.

I could go on and on about all the things I enjoyed about the way they decided to do what was right for them, so if you have any questions please leave them in the comments area and I will reply!

The final thought I will leave you with is there is no right or wrong when it comes to how you celebrate your day. I have clients who ask me all the time “Is this what I am supposed to do?”

My simple answer, “This is your day.”

Jake+Bridget_ceremony-62

P.S. Jake + Bridget had planned on having their wedding at the Japanese Tea Gardens before the rain decided to drift into town. Check our Ashley + Roy’s wedding at this venue for one of my favorite locations if you are trying to have your ceremony and reception in one venue!

Peace + love.
Morgan

 

Leave a Reply

